MA 72




2.0 linear feet (2 records center boxes) photographs, electronic records


The South Dakota State Poetry Society was formally organized on October 5, 1927. The collection is composed primarily of board meeting information; publications by the organization including Pasque Petals; publications by South Dakota poets; and the 2015 Poet Laureate recommendation to the Governor.

Historical Note

The South Dakota State Poetry Society was founded by Dr. James C. Lindberg of Northern State College and formally organized in Huron on October 5, 1927 in the Marvin Hughitt Hotel. The first officers of the organization were: Dr. Lindberg, President; Gertrude B. Gunderson of Mitchell, Vice President; and Ethelyn Miller Hartwich of Huron, Secretary. The stated purpose of the society is to encourage and foster the writing and publication of poetry by South Dakota writers. The organization was registered as a Nonprofit Corporation with the South Dakota Secretary of State on September 22, 1970.

Dr. Lindberg developed the first South Dakota Poetry magazine, Pasque Petals, which was made the official publication of the poetry society at its organizing meeting. Publication began in May of 1926 and continues today. It is the oldest poetry journal in continuous publication in the National Federation of State Poetry Societies.

South Dakota State Poetry Society is directed by a board made up of nine South Dakota poets who select an editor for Pasque Petals, oversee the annual national competition of poetry, and recommend the South Dakota Poet Laureate to the Governor. The current Poet Laureate is Lee Ann Roripaugh of Vermillion. The Poet Laureate post was a lifetime appointment until a recent change in state law that sets a four-year term. Past Poet Laureates are: Badger Clark, 1928-1957; Adeline Jenny, 1958-1973; Mabel Frederick, 1973; Audrae Visser, 1974-2001; and David Allan Evans, 2002-2014.

Content Notes

The materials in this collection were gathered by various officers and members of SDSPS. The collection consists of historical information, board meeting notes and minutes, correspondence, publications by the organization, publications by South Dakota poets, and the 2015 Poet Laureate recommendation to the Governor.

SDSU Archives and Special Collections

Ask Us!

If you have questions or would like to schedule a visit, please let us know.

Registration Form





South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections, Hilton M. Briggs Library, Brookings, South Dakota.


Copyright restrictions apply in different ways to different materials. Many of the documents and other historical materials in the Archives are in the public domain and may be reproduced and used in any way. There are other materials in the Archive carrying a copyright interest and must be used according to the provisions of Title 17 of the U.S. Code. The Archive issues a warning concerning copyright restrictions to every researcher who requests copies of documents. Although the copyright law is under constant redefinition in the courts, it is ultimately the responsibility of the researcher to properly use copyrighted material.