Document Type



By the early 1800s, the Sioux of the upper Great Plains had divided into three main sub-divisions: the Dakota, the Nakota, and the Lakota. The Dakota occupied most of the territory now known as the state of Minnesota. Throughout the 1800s, they were slowly deprived of much of that territory. By the end of the 1800s, they had not only lost most of their land, they had lost the legal right to live in Minnesota. This manuscript presents a graphic representation of that diaspora.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.