UA 1.1




4.71 linear feet (5 boxes) moving image materials, electronic records, photographs


The Office of the President is responsible for regulating and overseeing the general administration of the university. This collection is composed of various materials related to individual university presidents, including: McLouth, Johnson, Pugsley, Jackson, Leinbach, Headley, Briggs, Berg, Wagner, Miller and Chicoine.

Historical Note

The Office of the President is responsible for regulating and overseeing the general administration of the university. Along with various administrative duties, each year the president prepares an annual report, which is delivered to the Board of Regents. This report generally includes information about past and present university affairs and policies, as well as future plans and suggestions.

Originally, the president performed most of the university's administrative duties. Presidents often were members of the faculty as well. As administrative functions became more complex, the duties of the president were spread among other administrators. Today, the hierarchy of the university includes the Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice President for Administration, the Director of Diversity and Equal Opportunity, the Director of Disability Services and the Director of Athletics, all under discretion of the President of the University. The Board of Regents appoints the president of the university.

Content Notes

The Papers of university presidents span the years 1887-2007, with the bulk of the material dating from 1974-2007. The records are organized into series by name of the president.

This collection is made up of very small artificial collections of material by or about certain university presidents. Material is added as it is unearthed. No attempt is made to systematically collect this information.

The files are composed of material dealing with individual presidents and consist of inauguration material, correspondence, budget material, reports, speeches and addresses, publications, and clippings. In the Hilton M. Briggs Papers is material on the change from college to university. In the Sherwood O. Berg Papers are files dealing with Resolution 21.

No material has been found for the following university presidents: James Chalmers (1903-1906), Robert L. Slagle (1906-1913), George Lincoln Brown (1940), Harold M. Crothers (1946, 1951, 1957-1958), and H. Ray Hoops (1984-1985).

SDSU Archives and Special Collections

Follow this link for more information:




South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections, Hilton M. Briggs Library, Brookings, South Dakota.


Copyright restrictions apply in different ways to different materials. Many of the documents and other historical materials in the Archives are in the public domain and may be reproduced and used in any way. There are other materials in the Archive carrying a copyright interest and must be used according to the provisions of Title 17 of the U.S. Code. The Archive issues a warning concerning copyright restrictions to every researcher who requests copies of documents. Although the copyright law is under constant redefinition in the courts, it is ultimately the responsibility of the researcher to properly use copyrighted material.