Document Type


Publication Date



Please be advised that the individuals listed in the program do not constitute an official confirmation of meeting graduation requirements. The 95th Annual Commencement ceremony will commence with introductions by University President Sherwood O. Berg. Honorary marshals for this occasion are Dr. Hilton M. Briggs, President Emeritus, and Dr. Oscar E. Olson, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry. The commencement address, themed "The Impact of the University on the Physical Being, the Cultural Life, and the Intellectual Being," will be delivered by Brian Craig Aamlid, Marcia Vivian Friesen, and Gregory Alan Borchard. Notable individuals to be honored with honorary degrees include Kenneth Herbert Anderson (Doctor of Agriculture), Clifford James Franzke (Doctor of Agriculture), Nellie A. Hartwig (Doctor of Science), Lester L. Helgeland (Doctor of Letters), Jeannette Crawford Lusk (Doctor of Humanities), and David Flagstad Pearson (Doctor of Humanities). The commissioning of Army and Air Force Officers will be overseen by Lt. Col. Patrick R. Todd and Colonel Charles A. Lehman. Dr. Harold S. Bailey, Jr., Vice President for Academic Affairs, will acknowledge student honors.


South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections, H.M. Briggs Library