Document Type


Publication Date



Please be advised that the names listed in the program do not constitute official confirmation of meeting the graduation requirements. The 127th South Dakota State University Annual Undergraduate Commencement ceremony will commence with introductions by University President David L. Chicoine. Honorary marshals are Douglas McFarland, Distinguished Professor and Assistant Department Head of Animal Science, and Roberta Olson, Dean of Nursing. The commencement address, titled "Refusing to Live on an Island," will be delivered by Kathleen Norris, who will also be honored with a Doctor of Letters and Literature honorary degree. Provost Laurie Nichols, Vice President for Academic Affairs, will extend recognition to student honors. The commissioning of Army and Air Force officers will be conducted by Lt. Col. Aaron Schultz. Ty R. Littau, a candidate for graduation, will provide comments on behalf of the graduating class.


South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections, H.M. Briggs Library