Document Type


Publication Date



Please be advised that the names listed in the program do not constitute official confirmation of meeting the graduation requirements. The 121st Annual Commencement will begin with introductions by University President David L. Chicoine. Honorary marshals for the event will be Dr. Thomas L. Dobbs, Professor of Economics, and Dr. Kathryn M. Penrod, Professor of Education and Counseling. Delivering the commencement address titled "Living the 'WOW' Factor" will be Alex Steven Halbach, a candidate for graduation, and South Dakota Lt. Governor Dennis Daugaard will give an address titled "Looking Back - Looking Forward." Dr. Carol J. Peterson, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, will acknowledge faculty and student honors, including Distinguished Professor Douglas C. McFarland. Recognizing Army and Air Force commissions will be LTC Mike Herman of Army ROTC and Lt. Col. Craig Bond of Air Force ROTC. Additionally, Ralph J. Thompson will be recognized with a Doctor of Public Service honorary degree.


South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections, H.M. Briggs Library